Hello! (again…)

Well hello there. Long time, no blog posts! An explanation of my absence seems a little bit pointless for the following reasons:

1) I definitely have not been doing this anywhere near long enough to have a dedicated, ardent following (the thought of which makes me chuckle…)

2) On the offchance that anybody was holding their breath for another post, they wouldn’t be looking too rosy after the last three or so months

3) The idea that I might think that anybody actually hangs off my every word still makes me cringe quite a lot

But, after all that, here’s a short explanation, just in case.

Since August when I last posted, a lot has happened. I hadn’t been home from University for long when I was offered a job (miraculously) and found myself moving to London.

The last few months have been a whirlwind of flat hunting, Ikea trips, adjusting to a daily commute (major shock to my country- girl system), a full-time job (major shock to my humanities student system) and just generally being plunged headfirst into being an adult (of sorts). I’ve assembled my first flat-pack furniture, had my first ever paycheck, paid my first lot of tax (!) and had my first irate conversation with a letting agent (I JUST WANT A SPARE SET OF KEYS… please?).

And, of course, blogging fell very much by the wayside.  Not helped by the fact that for a significant amount of this time I’ve been without internet (read: intense trauma).

But I’m determined to get back on the bandwagon. I soon found myself missing having a reason to be creative outside work. I need to have a reason to write, to think and to photograph stuff and make it all look nice. (Is it bad that I need to blog to remember to do those things? Maybe…) Taking time away, even if it wasn’t deliberate, has made me realise why I started ohtogoawandering in the first place. And that is that it’s first and foremost for myself.

It has always made me cringe to assume that I blog because anybody wants to read what I have to say… A cripplingly British sensibility perhaps, but there we go. And if anybody else happens to like to read my rambles, and see my photographs, then great! I don’t mean at all to sound ungrateful to that tiny band of followers that I do have, even if by this point you’ve seen this on your blogroll and been like ‘Who on earth is that…?’

So here’s to trying very hard to remember to blog, no matter how hectic pretending to be a functioning adult can be.

All content is © Rebecca Daley and ohtogoawandering, 2014

2 thoughts on “Hello! (again…)

  1. jaysonconner says:

    Hi my name is Jayson. I like your post because on my site http://nycgraphix.com I followed suit by writing A LOT for years and then an event happened and my blog fell to the waste side. I had a lapse of 1 year though! I like this post because I too need to be reminded to keep blogging. I have a little proposition for you: I just redesigned my website http://nycgraphix.com and I have a links page. I wanted to know if you would like to swap links with me or mention my site in an article. My website is a little bit of this and that with lots of different topics to choose from. I like your content of your blog and I hope you enjoy mine. Please let me know.

    Thank you

    Jayson

    • ohtogoawandering says:

      Hi Jayson, thanks so much for following- I’m glad you liked the post. I’d be delighted if you’d like to include a link to my blog. I may well write some sort of article soon recommending blogs to have a look at, so I’ll be sure to check out your site 🙂

Leave a Reply

